Breaking News

Three Owls collect more postseason accolades 

DURHAM, N.C. — The Intercollegiate Men’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IMLCA) recently released the names of those NCAA Division III student-athletes who were awarded All-Region distinction for their play throughout the 2023 season. Within the Association’s Region 4 picks, Kenyon College was represented by Thomas Nelson, Rollins Heath, and Finn Murray.

The IMLCA organizes its annual selections across five regions and keeps those selections, in limited numbers, to a first team, a second team, and honorable mentions. All three Kenyon recipients were named honorable mentions.

Nelson adds the honor to a trophy case that already includes All-North Coast Athletic Conference (NCAC) honors and All-American status from both the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) and USA Lacrosse Magazine. Nelson, a sophomore face-off specialist, was an NCAA statistical champion, leading all Division III players by posting a .732 win percentage (259-of-354). Additionally, Nelson’s ground ball total (183) and ground ball average (10.1 per game) were program records and ranked among Division III’s 12 best outputs this past season.

Murray, a senior short stick defensive midfielder, also did well in the ground ball department. He scooped up 60 to go along with a team-high 20 caused turnovers. When jumping up with the attack, he contributed two goals and three assists. Prior to this award, Murray was named a 2023 All-NCAC first team honoree, as well as a USILA All-American.

Heath, like Murray, was also a 2023 All-NCAC first team honoree and a USILA All-America pick. A sophomore midfielder, Heath’s IMLCA All-Region honor, as well as his previously mentioned accolades, was based on a 2023 season in which he scored 21 goals and served up 21 assists in 18 games played. His point total (42) was third-best on the team. During the season, he also contributed 33 ground balls and 18 caused turnovers.

The Kenyon trio helped the 2023 Owls to a program-best 15-3 record, a share of the NCAC regular-season championship, and an at-large berth into the NCAA Division III Championship.

Check Also

Larimore, Abner top Super Q Girls Basketball Awards