Breaking News

Owls list 18 on CSCAA Scholar All-America ledger

RICHMOND, Va. — About two weeks after earning the College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) 2022-23 Scholar All-America Team award, the Kenyon College Owls had 18 swimmers and divers named as individual 2022-23 CSCAA Scholar All-Americans.

Kenyon’s long list included a dozen first-team honorees and six second-team honorees. Those earning spots on the first team were Drew Albrecht, Colin Bowling, Daniel Brooks, Cherantha De Silva, Mason Fishell, Bryan Fitzgerald, Noah Hargrove, Ethan Manske, Mart Niehoff, Kaan Orhan, Spencer Pruett, and Luis Weekes. Second-team honors went to Andrew Grier, Nick Hong, Mirjavohir Marvarov, Owen Peterson, Ben Shropshire, and Nicholas Theodos.

The CSCAA individual Scholar All-America is only awarded in the spring and presented to college and university swimmers and divers who have achieved both academic and athletic excellence over the semester coinciding with the year of their respective national championships.

First team Scholar All-America awards went to swimmers and divers who achieved a minimum grade point average of 3.50 and who qualified for the NCAA Championship. Second team awards went to student-athletes who achieved the same 3.50 grade point average, or better, and who reached an NCAA “B” time standard or competed at an NCAA Regional or Zone Diving qualifier. 

Factoring in previous years, Pruett finished his Kenyon career as a four-time CSCAA Scholar All-America while Albrecht, Fishell, Fitzgerald, Hong, Niehoff, and Weekes were all three-time winners. 

Check Also

Tyler’s Guardians Talk

Your home for the Cleveland Guardians is 100.9 FM and 93.7 HD2. Tyler has you …