Breaking News

Owls collect IWLCA academic accolades

NORTHBOROUGH, Mass. – The Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) released this week its annual list of Academic Honor Roll members, as well as its list of teams that were named Academic Honor Squads. The Kenyon College Owls not only earned the team award, but also had 10 student-athletes collect individual accolades.

The IWLCA named 288 teams across all NCAA and NAIA divisions as Academic Honor Squads. The honor was bestowed on teams that possessed a combined grade point average of 3.20 or better for the duration of the 2022-23 academic year. The Owls, who had a roster of 27, checked in with a team grade point average of 3.56 to secure their 10th team award in the past 11 seasons (no awards were presented in 2019-20 due to the COVID-19 pandemic).

Those Kenyon student-athletes who landed spots on the IWLCA’s Academic Honor Roll were seniors Tatumn Eccleston, Emma Hutchison, Julia Losey, Ella Murphy and Caroline O’Neil, as well as juniors Maddie Garner, Lauren Gilbert, Ali Hatfield, Annabel Ives and Sam Lee. Recipients of the award had to be a junior, senior, or graduate student and had to maintain a cumulative grade point average of 3.50 or greater.

All five Kenyon seniors listed are two-time winners of the award and the Owls’ total of 10 individual honorees is a program record, far surpassing the previous high mark of six set by the 2021-22 team. 

On the field, the 2022-23 Owls posted a program-best 18-2 record, won the North Coast Athletic Conference regular-season title, made an appearance in the NCAA Division III Tournament and earned a final national rank of No. 20 from the IWLCA.

Check Also

Tyler’s Guardians Talk

Your home for the Cleveland Guardians is 100.9 FM and 93.7 HD2. Tyler has you …