Breaking News

NFHCA Academic Squad includes 19 Owls honorees

GAMBIER, Ohio — On Wednesday, the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) unveiled its yearly ledger of student-athletes who earned a spot on the NFHCA National Academic Squad. An impressive 19 members from the Kenyon College field hockey team were included amongst the 1,800 honorees at the NCAA Division III level.

The NFHCA National Academic Squad program, sponsored by OPA Winning Teams, celebrates collegiate student-athletes who registered a cumulative grade point average of 3.50 or better through the fall semester of the current academic year and were nominated by their NFHCA member coach.

Senior defender Lucy Scott led the list of Kenyon winners. Her inclusion on the 2023 team makes her a four-time member of the NFHCA Academic Squad, one of just 291 DIII student-athletes with that distinction this year.

Scott was joined on the 2023 Squad by her fellow seniors Hannah Paprotna and Lauryn Rauschenberger, who are each making repeat appearances after earning honors in 2022. Kenyon juniors Justine Cole and Darcy Miller also earned a spot on last season’s Squad, and they are joined by their classmates Liz Cramer, Ella Haskins, Kiersten Hoffmann, and Megan Lydon. 

Owls sophomores Molly Laurent and Lana Stone made the grade and are another pair of repeat honorees from a year ago. Nearly all of Kenyon’s first-years were recognized after their first semester, a group of honorees that included Ella Adamec, Abby Golub, Gigi Johnson, Maren Lawrence, Casey Master, Maggie Wallace, Ada Wigfield, and Rigby Zentner.

Check Also

Kenyon women accept invitation to White House

GAMBIER, Ohio — Recognition of the Kenyon College women’s swimming and diving team, the 2024 …